14 Books in 2014-Book One

I just finished my first book of the year. Hooray!

bookone

image source

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

I have to admit that this book started off slow for me. There were a lot of female characters and because I wasn’t totally “into” the book yet, it made it hard for me to keep them all straight.

It was an interesting read. I wasn’t all that shocked by the secret. I also didn’t really feel any type of connection with any of the characters. I didn’t get emotional at any point in the story. Probably because I wasn’t emotionally invested in it. It just didn’t pull me in.

There were a few twists at the very end that were quite thought-provoking though and I did finally feel empathetic towards the characters and their life situations.

Overall, I think there was too much hype around this book (I kept hearing about how good it was), so I was expecting more from it. Sometimes when my expectations are too high, a perfectly good book can get ruined.

However, I liked the book and I would recommend it to my friends.

Up next is a big one and I’m super excited to get started!

Leave a Reply

