Adventures in Thrifting

I have always loved discovering little treasures at thrift stores, Goodwills, and even garage sales, but I’m not really good at visiting those places on a regular basis, especially garage sales. However, I’ve recently been totally inspired by Elise’s thrift store finds that she’s shared over on her blog http://eliseblaha.typepad.com, especially the awesome coffee mugs and dresser she found.

I’m also totally loving Manda’s mug collection at http://www.mandatownsend.com, and I love the way she has them displayed in her kitchen. So awesome! All my mugs are totally boring.

And because I’ve been so inspired, I decided to hit a couple of Goodwills this past weekend. We had to drop a big box of stuff off anyway, so why not. I was mainly looking for mid-century furniture, a coffee mug or two and some books for the kids.

Well, I ended up finding this little gem!

photo (8)

 

I love it! It makes me happy. I have no idea how old it is, but I’m digging the vintage feel.

We also found some good books for the kiddos, but no furniture.

I think this weekend I might have to check out a few thrift stores around town. I’m hooked after finding just one mug! Uh Oh. Maybe I can wrangle up a friend or two to join in the fun! (Liz, where are you when I need you?!?!)

 

Leave a Reply

