A Portrait A Month

I hate to admit it, but I haven’t used my Nikon since Christmas. I haven’t even taken it out of my camera bag. That’s very unlike me. I usually have it sitting out where I can grab it at a moments notice.

I think part of the problem is that I’m not feeling very inspired lately. It’s the dead of winter here. It’s cold, brown and altogether gloomy outside for the most part. I am definitely the type of person who is greatly inspired by my surroundings. I love color and light, but there isn’t much of either during the winter months. Total bummer.

Well, I’ve decided that a great way to get me shooting again is to focus on my biggest inspiration; my kiddos.

My plan is to take a portrait of each of them every month, so in the end I’ll have 24 portraits. I plan to capture both posed and natural portraits. I think it will be a great way to capture the kids as they change over the year.

I’ll be posting my photos here monthly starting this month, so be on the lookout for that post coming soon. I’m actually feeling excited to finally get my camera out!

In fact, I’m feeling so motivated that I may even take portraits of my husband and maybe even some self portraits!

DSC_0251-1

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

