One Little Word: Choose

IMG_0813

 

I mentioned in a previous post that my One Little Word for 2014 is Choose.

There are so many reasons that I picked this word.

I don’t always make the right/best choices. There I said it. That’s right. More times than I care to admit, I choose to check my phone, surf the web, yell at my kids instead of being calm, not exercise, eat poorly, overreact, etc.

Today though I’m specifically talking about Choosing to put down the iPhone.

This year I want things to be different. I’m so over having my iPhone right there all. the. time. I hate how it seems to control me. At this point, I don’t even realize that I’m picking it up every free moment I have. DUMB. I am choosing to put my phone up on a shelf in my living room and only check it a few times a day. I’ve already stopped checking FB, but now I need to stop checking my email and Instagram. It will still be there when I check it later.

Instead of checking my phone…

I want to read. I want to read books or magazines; anything not on my phone or computer.

I want to work on projects around my house or personal projects like Project Life, which I’m seriously behind on.

I want to play with my kids.

I want to learn something new.

Once the weather is nice, I want to sit outside and just be. Be in the momentt.

I realize that when I check my phone, I don’t usually spend more than 5-10 minutes looking at things. Most of the time it’s even less than that, but sometimes it more. But if I’m doing that a bunch of times throughout my day, it adds up. I want to have something to show for that time.

On the days where I’m really busy and consumed with jobs around the house, I forget about my phone for a couple of hours at a time and it’s awesome! I want that every day.

So, my first intention for my word is to CHOOSE to put down the phone and to do something better (for me) with my time. I’m choosing to live more in the moment. Live more in the little quiet moments.

 

Leave a Reply

