14 Books in 2014

I’m starting my challenge again and I’ve added another book to the challenge. I’m more determined than ever to accomplish it this year. There are three big reasons why this is so important to me.

1. I’m too distracted by technology. I spend way too much time looking at garbage on my phone. It’s totally out of control, and honestly, I’m over it. I need to be more present in my life, so whenever I feel the urge to “check” my phone, I’m planning to pick up my books instead. Reading is much more productive than Facebook or Candy Crush.

2. I love when I find a book that I can’t put down! Reading is a great escape from reality, but in a healthy and educational way. The smartest, most well-rounded people I know are readers, and that’s how I aspire to be.

3. I want my kids to be readers. I was a big reader as a kid. I have always loved books. I figure that the more my kids see me reading, the more apt they will be to pick up a book. They are actually already very interested in books. We read at least three books to them every night before bed and sometimes during the day if they ask. I catch them sitting together “reading” books a lot. I want it to stay that way. It makes me so happy!

IMG_6278

Sidenote: Do you/did you watch The Gilmore Girls? I want my kids to turn out like Rory. Is that weird? I didn’t think so.

I plan on blogging my progress again. I like how it keeps me accountable. Plus, I would be fun to look back and be able to see everything I’ve read.

I would love it if you joined in the challenge with me. We could swap book reviews! And you don’t have to read 14. You could set our own goal. Maybe you haven’t read a book since 1998. That’s cool. You could totally set your goal at two books and rock it!

Anyway, I read all types of books, so if you have any suggestions, I’m all ears!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

