Recipe Book-Pumpkin Bars

Yesterday I mentioned that I took some homemade pumpkin bars with us on our picnic. It was a new recipe that I found on Pinterest and they turned out great, so I thought I would share it with you today.

Pumpkin bars are one of my favorite pumpkin treats, and this recipe was perfect.

photo (18)

Pumpkin Bars

Original recipe found here at Hoosier Homemade.

Ingredients

    • 2 cups flour
    • 2 teaspoons baking powder
    • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 4 eggs
    • 1 2/3 cups sugar
    • 1 cup oil
    • 1 can (15oz) pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
Cream Cheese Frosting
  • 1 (3 oz) pkg of cream cheese, softened {you can buy an 8oz pkg and cut it down if your store doesn’t not carry 3 oz pkgs} **Note** I used the entire 8oz
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened **Note** I used 1/3 cup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla **Note** I used 2 tsp
  • 2 cups powdered sugar **Note** I used 4 cups

I followed this version of the recipe to make my frosting because we tend to like more frosting than what the original recipe made.

Directions

Pumpkin Bars

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt & soda) and set aside.In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin until light and fluffy. Add the dry ingredients, gradually. Mix well. Spread batter in a greased 15x10x1 baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 – 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool completely.

Frosting
Cream together butter and cream cheese. Add vanilla, mix well and then gradually add the powdered sugar, beating until mixture is smooth. Frost bars.
photo (19) photo (20)
This is the second pumpkin bar recipe that I’ve tried and I liked this one better. If you like pumpkin bars you should definitely give this recipe a try!
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

