Ready For Fall

As I prepare to attend the first Nebraska football game of this season (and my first game in four years!!!) this coming weekend, I’m reminded of a couple of weeks ago, and how it seemed as though summer was long gone as the cool temps set in and teased us with the possibility of an early autumn. However, this past weekend, summer reappeared in full force, and I have to admit that I’m not really loving it. I was semi complaining about the temps being too cool too soon and dreading the thought of an early winter so I wished for a “few” more days of lots of sun and temps in the 90’s. Well, I’m getting my wish with our forecast predicting temps in the 100’s for most of the week. Ugh. What have I done?!

I take it all back! I want the cooler temps in the upper 70’s and low 80’s again. With Hudson starting preschool next week (Yikes!), I’m ready for the beginning of a new season, a fresh start if you will. I’ll even admit that after I gave our house a nice good cleaning on Friday, I decided I couldn’t hold out any longer, and lit my pumpkin spice candle. It smelled amazing.

I adore fall. There’s something about it that is just magic. I love the crisp mornings and cool evenings. I love the colors. I love football; college football that is. I love all things pumpkin flavored and scented. I love sweaters and blankets and the return of comfort food, especially chili. I love pumpkins resting on front porches and the smell of fires burning. I get excited just thinking about it!

I thought I wasn’t ready for summer to come to a close, but I changed my mind. I’m completely ready to shut the book on summer (and these ridiculously hot & humid temps) this year and move on to the magic that is fall.

I found this quote on Pinterest this weekend and couldn’t agree more.

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.”      F. Scott Fitzgerald

DSC_1108

I’m awaiting a delivery of a bunch of photos today and plan to spend my afternoon in the air conditioning working on my Project Life and playing with the kids.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

