Recipe Book: Basil Pesto Pasta with Grilled Chicken

I mentioned yesterday that we made pesto with basil from my little container garden. It was fantastic! So fresh and full of flavor. I’m so, so happy that I decided to grow basil. Have I mentioned that before? Ha!

It was so good that I thought I would share the recipe I used to make the pesto. There are about a million pesto recipes, but I found this one on Pinterest. You can find the original post here at http://www.mybakingaddiction.com.

Fresh Basil Pesto

YIELD: about 1 ½ cups

INGREDIENTS:

3 cups packed fresh basil
2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted until golden and cooled
2/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

In a food processor or blender, combine basil and about 2 tablespoons of the extra virgin olive oil, blend into a paste. Add pine nuts, Parmesan cheese, garlic, and remaining oil and pulse until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_8053

 

IMG_8065

Notes: I didn’t have pine nuts, so I used toasted almonds instead and it was delicious. The recipe made enough for us to freeze half of it for later. Score! You can totally eat the pasta with just the pesto and it’s awesome, but we wanted to add some grilled chicken. Loved it!

I can’t wait for the basil to replenish so I can do another big harvest. I’m hoping to be able to freeze at least three servings of pesto to have this winter.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

