Garden Update

I know it may sound kind of silly, but I’m totally loving having my teeny, tiny garden this summer. I can’t believe how much joy something so small has brought me. I still find it exciting to go out every morning to see how much bigger the basil is after a harvest and if there are any signs of a tomato yet (there aren’t).

I’ve been seriously pondering and pinning how to build a raised garden and where I want to put it next summer and what I want to plant. I guess it will give me something to look forward to over the looong winter.

I’ve been tracking my garden’s growth through photos and as previously mentioned, plan to start a garden journal soon. I think I’ll be able to fill it in by looking back at the photos and documenting what I see according to the photo dates, not that it’ll be all that hard with just the two plants. I wish I would’ve started it at the beginning like I had planned, but I think I can still make it work. Although there won’t be much to report this season, I plan to add all of my future adventures with gardening to the same journal.

I have a ton of photos of my tiny garden (probably way too many for the average person) and I’m not sure what I want to do with them yet. I’ve considered just doing a spread in my Project Life album at the end of the season maybe using a coin pocket page or I might put together a 7×7 Blurb book. I saw the Blurb book idea here when Elise Blaha Cripe made one last summer and I love the idea. And actually, it could work as my journal too, although then I would have to print a garden book every summer. Would that be too much?!  Ha ha!

No matter which way I decide to document my little garden adventure, the point is, growing vegetables/herbs/plants is fun, spiritually rewarding and of course super awesome because you get to eat what you grew.

Oh how I love finding new hobbies to obsess over.

2013-07-25 08.42.13

2013-07-29 11.23.18 2013-07-29 11.23.39

2013-07-25 08.55.51

2013-07-25 08.57.42

2013-07-25 08.59.02

2013-07-25 09.10.22

Our basil is delicious! I’m waiting for it to fill out and then I plan to harvest enough for some pesto this time. I’m not sure what I’ll use the pesto on yet, but I’m sure I’ll post about it.

I hope I’m not turning into a crazy plant lady…or maybe I do  secretly want to be a crazy plant lady. Only time will tell. I guess it’s all good as long as a don’t turn into a crazy cat lady. Especially because I’m deathly allergic to cats.

Happy Monday!

P.S. One of my favorite blogs that I love to read that discusses gardening can be found at http://soulemama.com. She has an amazing garden. So inspiring! She even invites her readers to share about their own gardens. No, I do not share mine. People would laugh.

Leave a Reply

