Sandwich of the Summer

I love me a good sandwich and this one has been our favorite this summer season. It’s simple and so, so delicious. I mean, there’s basically only three ingredients; bread, bacon and avocados. You can’t go wrong.

2013-07-15 17.45.53 2013-07-15 17.45.59

This is how you make it.

Cook the bacon. We make ours in the oven, and cook it until it’s nice and crispy. While the bacon is cooking, drizzle a little olive oil on the bread of your choice. We used a french baguette sliced in half. Once the bacon is done, just pop the bread into the oven under the broiler for a couple of minutes. Slice the avocado last so it doesn’t brown. When the bread is toasted to your liking, top one slice with the bacon and avocado slices and sprinkle a little kosher or sea salt on the avocado. That’s it! Enjoy!

This would be a fantastic picnic sandwich. You could also add tomatoes or maybe some type of cheese, but we like it simple.

I would eat these at least once a week, but I don’t think I need that much bacon in my diet!

I’m always on the lookout for simple sandwiches. Especially in the summer when I don’t want to turn the oven on.

Leave a Reply

