The Garden’s Growth

It’s going to be really, really hot today. Temps are supposed to be in the upper 90’s, but feeling like it’s over 100! And the humidity is awful and practically suffocating. I spent the morning outside with the kids doing a little yard work while they played in the water table, but this afternoon, I plan on staying indoors and doing some sort of project with them.

I love summer, but I’m not all that fond of the humidity. Blah.

I’ve been taking weekly photos of my little container garden in hopes of keeping a simple journal to reference in the future and maybe even to look back on one day and smile about my simple beginnings because by then I’ll have a large garden.

I was looking back at the first photos I took and can’t believe how much it has grown! I’m proud that I’ve managed to keep it alive and thriving. I’m still wishing I had planted one more basil plant. I don’t know what I was thinking only planting two.

Here are the first photos I took.

IMG_6810 IMG_6811

 

IMG_6843 IMG_7027

I had my basil in the house for a bit before potting it and it managed to grow a bit.

IMG_7029

 

My basil was so tiny! And actually so was the tomato plant! I guess that’s why I thought that pot would be sufficient enough, but I definitely think I needed a bigger one.

Here is my garden as of last weekend.

2013-07-09 19.29.26

**I must really like those sweatpants! I have the same ones on in both photos!**

The tomato plant has almost grown to the top of the cage, but no signs of a tomato. I’ve heard that some people swear by MiracleGro on their tomato plants. I think I may try that this weekend. I might also try switching the pot. I bet they’re all on sale now.

I’ve already harvested a small amount of basil so that the new leaves would keep growing, but it’s time for another harvest. It’s actually even bigger now than when I took this photo. It’s looking really good and I’ve been making sure to pick the flowers.

2013-07-09 19.29.47 2013-07-09 19.30.11

The little lady was helping me water. She loves watering the plants.

2013-07-13 16.35.48 2013-07-13 16.36.38

 

I’m really happy with the growth of both, but am still hoping for at least a couple of tomatoes. If you have any tips, I’m all ears!

Tomorrow is Friday! Yay!

Leave a Reply

