First Basil Harvest

Last week I harvested my basil for the first time. It was very exciting for me! I read that in order to keep your plant thriving you need to harvest the big leaves to that the new, smaller leaves underneath can get sun and grow, so that’s what I did. It wasn’t a big harvest, but a necessary¬†harvest. It didn’t matter to me a though. I was just excited to be “gardening”.

We didn’t end up using the basil (whomp, whomp) because we went out-of-town, but I’m really looking forward to the second harvest so we can add it to pizza or pasta. I’ve been looking for some new recipes that call for fresh basil.

2013-07-02 07.27.19 2013-07-02 07.28.49

 

I probably could have taken even more than I did, but I’m new at this and have no clue what I’m doing! Help please?!

In other news, I’m not sure if I’ll get any tomatoes from my plant or not. It’s had a few small, yellow flowers, but it doesn’t appear that the flowers are turning into tomatoes. But I’m keeping a positive attitude in hopes that I’ll have some by August. Fingers crossed.

2013-07-02 07.27.35 2013-07-02 07.27.42

 

It’s grown so much since I planted it! It’s even grown a lot since I took these photos.

2013-07-01 09.41.36

 

I’m loving this view out my kitchen window. And I love going out in the mornings to check on our little garden. I can only imagine what it would be like to have a huge garden. Oh the possibilities of someday!

Does anyone know of a good gardening blog? If so, I would love to hear about them, and be able to read more about it and see the progress of other people’s gardens.

See you tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

