Recipe Book-Taco Stuffed Pasta Shells

Today I have another Pinterest find to share with you. My favorite thing about Pinterest is finding new recipes. It gets so hard coming up with new ideas, especially food that the kids will eat.

Okay, so this may not be the healthiest meal ever (lots of cream cheese and regular cheese), but it was really good and it could probably easily be converted into a vegetarian recipe. Our kids went crazy over these, which was hilarious because Hudson is in the phase of absolutely NOT wanting to try anything new…at all. Somehow, I convinced him to take a bite of mine and he ate the rest of my plate and wanted more! It was awesome! Anyway, it’s a pretty simple recipe and it supposed to freeze well. I haven’t tried to freeze it yet, but next time I make it I think I’ll make double and give it a whirl.

IMG_5904

Taco Stuffed Pasta Shells

original recipe can be found at Inspired Ginger

Ingredients

1 lb. ground beef or turkey (I used turkey to make it a little lighter)
1/4 cup taco seasoning, 1 envelope
4 oz. cream cheese, cubed
12 Jumbo Pasta shells, cooked according to package instructions
1 cup salsa
1 cup taco sauce
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup shredded Jack cheese

optional toppings:

1 1/2 cup crushed tortilla chips
1 cup sour cream
3 green onions, chopped
sliced olives
guacamole
sliced avocados
tomatoes

Instructions

In a skillet brown meat over medium heat. Add taco seasoning and mix to combine. Add cubed cream cheese, cover and simmer so cream cheese can melt. Remove from heat and cool.

Fill cooked shells with about 1-2 T. of meat mixture. In a 9×13 glass baking dish pour salsa to coat the bottom of dish. Place filled taco shells on top then add taco sauce. Cover and bake @ 350 for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, uncover, and sprinkle cheese on top, return to oven for another 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly. Serve with sour cream, and toppings of your choice.

I ended up having to use a smaller baking dish; 8×8 in order for the shells to stand up.

IMG_5906

I only added the salsa to half of the shells before baking because we only had a hot salsa, much too hot for the kids. But after we were done eating Jeremy said he liked the shells without the salsa better anyway. He liked being able to add it after along with the rest of his toppings. So, next time I don’t plan on adding the salsa.

I thought this recipe would be heartier than it actually was, and that was a pleasant surprise. Usually I save my heartier recipes for Fall and Winter, but I think this one would work all year round.

IMG_5905

If you end up trying it, be sure to stop by and let me know and be sure to let Ginger over at Inspired Ginger know you liked it too!

Next time, I also plan to add tomatoes and avocados to ours! Oh yeah!

I love trying new recipes, so if you have a favorite one I love to hear it! Feel free to share in the comments!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

