Pinterest Challenge-A Terrarium

PinterestChallengebanner1winter

The project I ending up choosing for the unofficial Pinterest Challenge was building a terrarium. I’ve wanted to do this for quite some time now, and finally decided to go for it. I already had some of the supplies needed hand, so there weren’t many extra expenses.

The only things we had to purchase were the plants and the potting soil. We decided to use cactus soil instead of regular potting soil. I read a few different post about how to build a terrarium and mentioned using cactus soil because succulents don’t like much water.

We bought both the cactus soil and the succulents at Home Depot. We bought three small succulents at $2.28 each and two bigger succulents at $3.48 each, and we spent $4.99 on the bag of cactus soil.

Here is a look at our process. We made it a family activity and everyone helped. It was fun and I plan to make at least one more for our bedroom.

IMG_5893

DSC_0099

DSC_0106

DSC_0107

DSC_0128

DSC_0134

DSC_0135

DSC_0137

DSC_0139

My inspiration came from Yellow Brick Home and www.brittnayanddylan.blogspot.com.

After I took these photos, I actually went back and removed some of the soil because I thought it looked to high. I like it much better now. It’s only a couple inches lower, but it makes a huge difference.

I’m really happy with how it turned out. I even added some rocks that we collected on the beach in Big Sur, California, so every time I look at it I’m reminded of our awesome trip! I love the bit of green that it adds to our living room. It’s inspired me to add more plants to our space.

Has anyone else built a terrarium? I would love to see it. I need more inspiration for the future!

Tashia

3 thoughts on “Pinterest Challenge-A Terrarium

Leave a Reply

